Wednesday, 4 November 2015

Review - Once Kissed by Cecy Robson


Title: Once Kissed
Series: O’Brien Family #1
Author: Cecy Robson
Release Date: November 3, 2015


Once they shared a night of passion. Now a chance encounter forces them back together. In Cecy Robson’s O’Brien Family series debut—perfect for readers of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—two total opposites find that the flames of desire are still smoldering.

Tough-as-steel cop Curran O’Brien is quickly rising through the ranks of the Philadelphia police department. But when his rookie partner is almost killed under his watch, Curran just wants to prove he still has what it takes to walk among Philly’s finest. So he’s pissed to be stuck on a cushy security assignment for the DA’s office . . . until he gets a good look at the sweet, straitlaced intern he’s supposed to protect—but not touch.

Tess Newart recognizes Curran instantly. How could she not? Back in college she tied this former frat boy to the bed with her argyle socks! That sizzling one-night stand was the only indiscretion Tess ever allowed herself. She has survived law school so far, despite being pushed to succeed by her overbearing father. Now that she’s interning on a major case against a ruthless crime boss, she won’t jeopardize her career by giving in to temptation again. She just never expected temptation to look so damn hot in uniform.

Tess knows her father has other plans for her, and they don’t include Curran. But soon she’s falling for him all over again. And when danger emerges, Curran will prove just how good a bad-boy cop can be.






I'll admit, I was first drawn to this book because of the couple almost-kissing on the cover. There was just something kind of beautiful about them, and I wanted to know their story—whatever it might be. The blurb, sucked me in. And then, the actual book? Wound me up, made me laugh, and hooked me on this new series. 

Once tied to the bed by her argyle socks, now her protector… That's Curran O’Brien, Philly cop, and man trying to get his career back on track after one tragic night has him sidelined. Being given the task to babysit the Assistant DA’s intern seems like a step backward for Curran, but when he sees Contessa Newart, it doesn't seem so bad. 

Tess hasn't forgotten the night of flaming passion she shared in college with Curran. But she's on a specific career path, and with her controlling father trying to force her life in a direction of his choosing, she really doesn't want to get involved again—even if she's falling for Curran…hard. 

When danger comes to Tess’ door, and the case she's working on puts her in the line of fire, Curran finally has the chance to prove to his superiors that he's still fit for the job—and to show Tess he’ll keep her safe at any cost. 

I was more-than-pleasantly surprised by Once Kissed. Cecy Robson is a new-to-me author, and she's already got me addicted. The chemistry between Tess and Curran was so much fun; playful, sweet, affecting and downright sinful at times, this couple was easy to fall in love with. Ms. Robson balanced Curran’s frat boy humor and needling tendencies well with his kind nature and need to protect, just as she balanced Tess’ prickly, shy exterior perfectly with her soft, loving heart and shattering backstory. 

And what a backstory it was. It could have been trite or overworked, but it wasn't. The way this author worked through Tess’ issues, and illustrated how a grown woman could be in her situation was well-handled. The story, as a whole, was well-written, a touch suspenseful and heart-pumping, and laugh-out-loud funny at times. I did, admittedly, find some of the jumps forward just a little jarring on one or two occasions—although I can fully appreciate why it was done and the story was no less for it. 

I'm really excited about the O’Brien Family series. Because some of my favorite parts of this story came about when the brothers and sister (all of whom have AWESOME names, BTW) were playing around, bantering, joking and being silly siblings together. I'm also excited at the prospect of going back and getting acquainted with Ms. Robson’s previous series, the Shattered Past series, from which a couple of characters made cameos in fun, memorable, but not hard-to-follow ways; the connections existed and felt authentic, and never like you'd missed something, or someone, by not having met them before. Kudos to Ms. Robson for that. So, is it time for Once Crossed yet? 
~ Review by Beth




CECY (pronounced Sessy) ROBSON is the Penguin Random House New Adult author of Once Perfect, Once Loved, and Once Pure, and the award-winning author of the Weird Girls Urban Fantasy Romance series. A self-proclaimed professional napper, Cecy counts among her talents a jaw-dropping knowledge of useless trivia, the ability to make her hair big, and a knack for breaking into song despite her family's vehement protests. A writer, registered nurse, and mother living in the South, Cecy enjoys spending time with her family and silencing the yappy characters in her head by telling their stories.



No comments:

Post a Comment