Wednesday, 3 February 2016

Review - Against the Wall by Jill Sorenson


Title: Against the Wall 
Author: Jill Sorenson
Release Date: February 2, 2016


Fans of Katie McGarry, Simone Elkeles, and Tammara Webber will love Against the Wall! As teenagers, they fell for each other despite the odds. But now that Eric and Meghan are all grown up, they’re reunited by fierce passion and dangerous secrets.

Eric Hernandez is the bad boy of every schoolgirl’s fantasies—and every mother’s nightmares. But after serving time for manslaughter, he’s ready to turn his life around. He just needs a chance to prove himself as a professional tattoo artist. The one thing that keeps him going is the memory of the innocent beauty he loved and left behind.

Meghan Young’s world isn’t as perfect as it looks. The preacher’s daughter is living a lie, especially now that Eric is back. Tougher, harder, and sexier than ever, he might be the only person she can trust. But there’s no telling what he’ll do to protect her if he learns the truth, and that’s a risk Meghan won’t let him take. And yet, back in the arms of the troubled boy with the artist’s soul, Meghan can’t help surrendering to the man he’s become.





If you are looking for a darker romance, with different story line, this may be the book you want to read! The hero, Eric, has just gotten out of prison and is trying to change his life. The heroine, Megan, is his ex from just before he went in to serve time for manslaughter. 

Eric is trying hard to change, but when you grow up only knowing one thing, that is hard to do. After being released he is living with his ex-sister in-law and her new cop husband (who also happens to be his ex’s brother). With some good connections he is able to get a job at a tattoo parlor doing miscellaneous jobs, trying to prove himself.

Megan and Eric were dating when he went to prison. He broke her heart and told her he never loved her. When he is released, she has a hard time staying away… 

I really liked this book. It was different than other books and it was nice being able to root for them. There are some situations in this book that may be hard for some to read, but I assure you they were well written and handled appropriately. 

Everyone is very over protective of Megan and it makes her seem like a whiney brat at times. Other times I was very happy she was able to stand up for herself. I simply wish she was more consistent throughout the book. 
~ Review by Devlynn



Jill Sorenson is the RITA-nominated author of more than a dozen novels, including the Aftershock series with HQN. She lives in the San Diego area with her husband and daughters.


No comments:

Post a Comment