Wednesday 15 April 2015

Blog Tour- When I'm Gone by Abbi Glines

Title: When I'm Gone
Series: Rosemary Beach Book 11
Author: Abbi Glines 
Publisher: Simon & Schuster 
Release Date: April 7, 2015 

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Abbi Glines comes the next new adult novel in the Rosemary Beach series, in which we meet Mase, a Texas heartthrob first introduced in Take a Chance who comes to Rosemary Beach to stir things up.

I had an urge to fix all her problems. Which was stupid. She was doing fine without me. But something about those big eyes… 

Mase Colt-Manning has always preferred his humble life as a Texas rancher to his birthright as the son of a legendary rock star. In fact, he rarely visits his father’s rarefied world in Rosemary Beach, especially if it means bunking at his vile half-sister Nan’s house—until one visit leads to a chance encounter with a young, gorgeous house maid who awakens him with her off-key but spirited imitation of a country music star… 

Reese Ellis finally has her freedom. After escaping a lifetime of abuse from her parents and classmates for an undiagnosed learning disorder, she seizes the opportunity to be a house maid to some of the richest families in Rosemary Beach. But her job is in jeopardy when she causes an accident at the home of her most important client, Nan Dillon. When a hot, half-naked stranger with a cowboy’s swagger comes to her rescue, she’s intrigued—then afraid once he shows his own interest. Reese has never met a trustworthy man in her life. Will Mase be any different?

Finding a job and a home in Rosemary Beach has given Reese Ellis the freedom she’s longed for and deserved. She’s finally escaped the abusive home and taunts from classmates from an undiagnosed learning disorder. She’s thriving not just surviving, cleaning houses for the rich and famous in Rosemary Beach until one mishap may just end it all.

Mase Colt-Manning is in Rosemary Beach visiting his sister, Harlow, and staying at his other sister, Nan’s house while in town. Mase is woken up his first morning, serenaded by the vacuum and Reese’s off-key singing. But Reese has also woken up Mase’s protective nature—something she’ll need, especially after the accident at Nan’s house.

Can Reese drop her walls low enough to let Mase inside both her heart and her life? Will Mase convince Reese that not all men are untrustworthy scum—that some men actually keep their promises?

I really wanted to love this book. I’ve been waiting for Mase’s full story since he was first introduced to us in the series, but I was very disappointed that this was essentially a Part One. Reese’s learning disability storyline was intriguing and well done, but I felt that the story fell flat with the accident at Nan’s house and Nan’s bitchy reaction—there’s only so many ways for Nan to be a bitch and I think that number has been reached.

I do want to read Part Two to find out what happens with Mase and Reese, I just hope Abbi keeps Nan out of it! 
~ Missy, 4 stars

Abbi Glines is the New York TimesUSA TODAY, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of the Rosemary Beach, Field Party, Sea Breeze, Vincent Boys, and Existence series. A devoted book lover, Abbi lives with her family in Alabama.

Visit the Rosemary Beach Club to enter to win either a grand prize of Abbi’s Favorite Things + the entire Rosemary Beach Series from Atria Books or one of the runner up prizes of one of four signed copies of ONE MORE CHANCE.

No comments:

Post a Comment